Review: Writing Fiction For Dummies

8 Jun

Writing Fiction For DummiesWriting Fiction For Dummies by Randy Ingermanson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Writing Fiction for Dummies was far better than I thought it would be. It included information that I haven’t read in other books about writing and really starts at the beginning of the process: thinking about your target audience, genre, etc. Techniques are broken down step-by-step which I found very helpful. It’s not the end-all book on writing, of course, but for a single book to take on such a wide topic, it does a good job. The authors recommend several books for further information, as well, and I plan on checking out the ones I haven’t already read.

It’s easy to get turned off by the bright yellow cover and “for DUMMIES” title, but this was definitely worth the read. It’s a book I see myself referencing again and again as I write my draft.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

