A Turning Point

4 Jun

Although I set the goal a few months back to write a novel, I haven’t been making much forward progress.  My head is full of my fan fiction story ideas that I want to finish (okay, start in some cases) and while there’s a recent trend of authors “converting” their fan fiction story into “original” fiction by changing the characters’ names, that’s not for me.  I like to tie in too much from canon to feel good about publishing it.  Plus, I’m on the fence about self-publishing.

So anyway, I just really didn’t have any concrete ideas.  Sure, there are ideas everywhere, but nothing reached out and grabbed me.  All I had was a glimpse of a few characters that might be good to use in a story, but I had no real conflict and plot.

We’re taking a mini-vacation this weekend and were in the car for four hours yesterday.  My husband and I started talking about what I’ll do when our daughter (8 months) is in kindergarten.  At one point he said, “You should write a book.”

I shyly and reluctantly admitted that I did want to write a book.  My husband knew I liked to write, knew I spent a lot of time learning about writing, but I’d never actually said the words out loud to him: “I want to write a novel.”

He’s completely supportive of this goal.  When I mentioned that I’d probably have to wait until our daughter is in preschool so I could get some uninterrupted time to focus on it, he said, “That’s a few years away.  Why wait?”

We continued to talk about it for over two hours, after I, again, reluctantly, told him about my glimmer of an idea.  We brainstormed and that glimmer turned a different direction.  What I thought would have been an adult, mainstream novel about families turned into a young adult coming-of-age novel.

There are still dozens of directions the story could go; it’s still very vague.  But I have a premise, a “What if…” — and that’s much more than I had before the conversation.

When my husband said that “What if” out loud, I got goosebumps.  That’s how I knew we’d hit on something I’d actually want to write.  Goosebumps.

Our son (almost 7) also got into the conversation.  “You’re going to write a book that goes in a bookstore?!”  He thought that was the coolest thing ever.  He also decided that he would draw the illustrations and my husband would do the cover picture.  My son also told me the name of my protagonist (and his brother…he apparently has a brother) and I’ll be damned if it didn’t fit.

Although I’d packed my pen and notebook, they were stuffed in the trunk and inaccessible.  And by some cruel twist of fate, I’d put the pen and notepad I keep in my purse into another purse, which was also packed in the trunk.  As soon as we got settled in the hotel room, I pulled out my notebook and tried to capture all the ideas down.  I know I lost some to my scattered brain, but I got as much down as I could.

How does it all look in the morning?

Well, to be honest, I’m less excited about it today. But I’m keeping it in the back of my head to think on it. The main thing I’m excited about, though, is my husband’s complete and total support. I didn’t really expect anything less, but his enthusiasm was more than I expected. And I’m proud of myself for finally being brave enough to share my dream.

2 Responses to “A Turning Point”

  1. naelany June 4, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    that’s quite the turning point! Good luck!

    • addicted2edward June 6, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks! I’m a bit scared to leave the “safety” of fan fiction, if you know what I mean…

Leave a Reply

